Cursor vs OpenAI Codex: price and usage limits
Both start at $8/month (Cursor Plus, ChatGPT Go). Top individual plans: Cursor Ultra $200 and ChatGPT Pro $100 (Plans at $100, $200, or $500 USD per month). Both have a $0 plan. Same price points: $8 (Cursor Plus vs ChatGPT Go); $100 (Cursor Super vs ChatGPT Pro).
Cursor does not publish an exact usage allowance; it describes plans in relative terms such as "4x more usage compared to Plus". OpenAI Codex does not publish an exact usage allowance; OpenAI says "These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times".
See all 9 tools →Plan by plan, by price
Individual monthly plans. Team and per-seat plans are in the full tables below.
| Price / month | Cursor | OpenAI Codex |
|---|---|---|
| $0 | Free | Free |
| $8 | Plus | Go |
| $20 | — | Plus |
| $30 | Premium | — |
| $100 | Super | Pro |
| $200 | Ultra | — |
What each vendor says about limits
Quoted verbatim from the vendor's page, linked to the source.
Your allowance refreshes weekly, so one heavy day never wipes out your whole month.source
| Plan | Price | What the vendor says about limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0per month | Limited agent requests Limited Chat requestssource |
price verified |
| Plus | $8per month | *Only Grok models are available on this plansource |
price verified |
| Premium | $30per month | 4x more usage compared to Plussource |
price verified |
| Super | $100per month | 15x more usage compared to Plussource |
price verified |
| Ultra | $200per month | 50x more usage compared to Plussource |
price verified |
| Teams | $30per user | unknown — not stated on the pricing page | limit not published |
These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times.source
| Plan | Price | What the vendor says about limits | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0per month | unknown — not stated on the pricing page | limit not published |
| Go | $8per month | unknown — not stated on the pricing page | limit not published |
| Plus | $20per month | Est. local messages per 5h: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160source |
price verified |
| Pro | $100per month · Plans at $100, $200, or $500 USD per month | Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.source |
price verified |
| Business | $20per user, annual · $25 per user per month when billed monthly | unknown — not stated on the pricing page | limit not published |
Cursor vs OpenAI Codex: FAQ
Straight answers from today's data (2026-10-18).
Is Cursor or OpenAI Codex cheaper?
Both start at $8/month (Cursor Plus, ChatGPT Go). Top individual plans: Cursor Ultra $200 and ChatGPT Pro $100 (Plans at $100, $200, or $500 USD per month). Both have a $0 plan. Same price points: $8 (Cursor Plus vs ChatGPT Go); $100 (Cursor Super vs ChatGPT Pro). Prices are the vendors' own monthly USD list prices, checked 2026-10-18.
Do Cursor and OpenAI Codex publish exact usage limits?
Cursor does not publish an exact usage allowance; it describes plans in relative terms such as "4x more usage compared to Plus". OpenAI Codex does not publish an exact usage allowance; OpenAI says "These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times".
What does each Cursor plan say about limits?
Anysphere: "Your allowance refreshes weekly, so one heavy day never wipes out your whole month". Per plan (checked 2026-10-18): Cursor Free $0/month ("Limited agent requests Limited Chat requests"); Cursor Plus $8/month ("*Only Grok models are available on this plan"); Cursor Premium $30/month ("4x more usage compared to Plus"); Cursor Super $100/month ("15x more usage compared to Plus"); Cursor Ultra $200/month ("50x more usage compared to Plus").
What does each OpenAI Codex plan say about limits?
OpenAI: "These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times". Per plan (checked 2026-10-18): ChatGPT Free $0/month (no limit stated on the pricing page); ChatGPT Go $8/month (no limit stated on the pricing page); ChatGPT Plus $20/month ("Est. local messages per 5h: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160"); ChatGPT Pro $100/month ("Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit").
More comparisons
Cursor vs Claude Code · Claude Code vs OpenAI Codex · GitHub Copilot vs Cursor · All 9 tools side by side · Check my Claude Code plan
Usage limits explained: Cursor pricing & limits · Codex usage limits · Claude Code usage limits · Copilot AI credits & limits · Best AI coding plan for $20