Compare plans › Codex usage limits

OpenAI Codex usage limits explained

OpenAI does not publish a fixed Codex allowance; it gives estimates. Its Codex pricing page says: "These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times".

ChatGPT plans (checked 2026-10-18): Free $0/month (no limit stated on the pricing page); Go $8/month (no limit stated on the pricing page); Plus $20/month ("Est. local messages per 5h: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160"); Pro $100/month ("Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit").

Prices and pricing-page limit wording are read from each vendor's official page every day. Last updated · 37 plans verified across 9 tools.

Claude Code vs Codex →

ChatGPT plans and what OpenAI says about Codex limits

Every ChatGPT plan on the Codex pricing page, with the vendor wording quoted verbatim.

OpenAI Codex (ChatGPT plans)

OpenAI · sources: developers.openai.com
These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times. source
⚠ Exact usage allowance not published by vendor — measure yours
PlanPriceWhat the vendor says about limitsChecked
Free$0per month unknown — not stated on the pricing page limit not published
2026-10-18 · page
Go$8per month unknown — not stated on the pricing page limit not published
2026-10-18 · page
Plus$20per month Est. local messages per 5h: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160 source price verified
2026-10-18 · page
Pro$100per month · Plans at $100, $200, or $500 USD per month Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit. source price verified
2026-10-18 · page
Business$20per user, annual · $25 per user per month when billed monthly unknown — not stated on the pricing page limit not published
2026-10-18 · page

How the five-hour and weekly windows work

Quotes from the vendor's own help pages, checked 2026-10-18. Plan prices and pricing-page wording above are re-read every day.

Why there is no fixed message count

What to do when you hit the limit

Compare Codex with other tools

Claude Code vs OpenAI Codex · Cursor vs OpenAI Codex

FAQ

Straight answers from today's data (2026-10-18) and the vendor's own help pages.

What are the OpenAI Codex usage limits?

OpenAI does not publish a fixed Codex allowance; it gives estimates. Its Codex pricing page says: "These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times". ChatGPT plans (checked 2026-10-18): Free $0/month (no limit stated on the pricing page); Go $8/month (no limit stated on the pricing page); Plus $20/month ("Est. local messages per 5h: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160"); Pro $100/month ("Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit"). "Depending on your plan, usage limits may apply over a five-hour window and a weekly window. Where both apply, you need allowance remaining in both to continue" (help.openai.com).

When does the Codex usage limit reset?

"A new window starts when you send your first message in Work or Codex after the previous window ends" (help.openai.com). "You may reach the five-hour limit before five hours have passed, even if you still have weekly usage remaining" (help.openai.com). "Check Settings → Usage for your current allowance and reset times" (help.openai.com).

Does ChatGPT Pro have a five-hour limit in Codex?

"Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 currently have no five-hour usage limit in Work and Codex. Your plan still has an included usage allowance" (help.openai.com). On the Codex pricing page (checked 2026-10-18): Pro $100/month (Plans at $100, $200, or $500 USD per month), "Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit".

ChatGPT Plus vs Pro for Codex: what is the difference?

Plus is $20/month ("Est. local messages per 5h: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160"); Pro starts at $100/month (Plans at $100, $200, or $500 USD per month) ("Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit"). "These ranges are estimates, not guaranteed message counts" (help.openai.com).

Can I reset my Codex limit early?

Eligible personal Plus and Pro accounts can buy an instant reset: "A completed purchase immediately restores both 5-hour and weekly usage. It pulls your normal weekly allowance forward rather than adding a separate usage entitlement" (help.openai.com). "It is not available on Free, Go, Business, Enterprise, or Edu plans" (help.openai.com).

What Codex limits do the cheaper ChatGPT plans have?

Free ($0), Go ($8): no limit figure is stated on the Codex pricing page (checked 2026-10-18).

Related

Know the day your limits change

One email a week, only when a price or usage limit moves. No spam.

Get the weekly email →